Starbranch Law
An aggressive defense Portsmouth · Dover · Hampton · Statewide
603-436-5566

Portsmouth Criminal Law Blog

What’s difference between manslaughter and negligent homicide?

New Hampshire state laws generally divide criminal homicide into five categories. These include capital murder, first-degree murder, second-degree murder, manslaughter, and negligent homicide. Manslaughter and negligent homicide are very closely related, however, there are some differences.

While these two particular criminal homicide offenses can seem almost like the same crime, certain circumstances separate the two. To find out more about New Hampshire manslaughter laws and negligent homicide, read further.

These situations can lead to the loss of your right to a firearm

When you commit a crime or are accused of one, your first thought might be that you need to avoid prison. Prison isn't the only possible punishment there is for committing a crime. In fact, you could lose your right to own a firearm.

The Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act restricts the people who can own a gun in America. You may not have a gun for business or personal use if you have done any of the following.

What is the Impaired Driver Care Management Program Requirement?

The police officer who pulled you over said that he smelled alcohol on your breath and that you were swerving in your lane. You had no idea. You thought you were completely sober.

Nevertheless, when you took the Breathalyzer test, your results showed that you had a blood alcohol content of .09 percent. This not a high level of alcohol in the system compared to other DWI accusations, but it's .08 percent or above. Therefore, you were too drunk to drive.

Shoplifting allegations could result in felony theft charges

You visited a store and tried on a designer suit or a necklace, then another. At some point, something else happened, distracting you from what you were doing. Eventually, you left the store, only to get stopped by law enforcement on your way home. A simple mistake with merchandise, if it's worth more than $1,000 could be considered felony theft in New Hampshire.

That could mean that you, as a consumer, end up facing serious felony criminal charges because you forgot you were wearing an item when you left the store. This is just one example of how people end up wrongly charged with a felony.

Homicides: Murder and manslaughter are different charges

When a person dies at the hands of another, the individual who is accused of the death might have to deal with the criminal justice system. This is a difficult prospect, however, having a basic understanding of the difference between murder and manslaughter may help as you work on a defense if you are facing criminal charges.

One of the first things that you have to understand is what homicide means in the criminal justice system. At the most basic level, a homicide is a death that wasn't due to natural causes. There are two types of homicides in the criminal justice system -- murder and manslaughter.

Don't let drug charges threaten your education

As a young college student or a young person looking forward to college, you should do everything you can to make sure that your education and future do not run off the rails if you make a simple mistake.

Of course, the reality of the matter is that many young people see their bright futures snuffed out because of drug charges. Many universities refuse to accept individuals with drug convictions on their records, while drug convictions during your time in college can lead to jail time that knocks you out of your studies -- often permanently.

New Hampshire DWI charges can completely change your life

Sometimes, a mistake can change your life forever. You may have felt like you were fine to drive, but law enforcement felt otherwise. Perhaps you failed a field sobriety test because you've always been clumsy. Maybe your breathalyzer test was falsely positive because you suffer from diabetes or hypoglycemia.

Whatever the reason, now you're facing a DWI charge. You may be tempted to plead guilty and end this embarrassing chapter in your life. Doing that could be a mistake that could haunt you forever.

I was accused of negligent homicide after a car crash

After a fatal car accident, all of the focus will be on remembering the person who died. The grieving of the victim's family members and friends will also be an important concern. However, another person is usually suffering just as much as everyone else: the individual who received the blame for causing the accident.

Not only does the person faulted for the accident face a lot of pain and anguish over being involved in a crash that ended someone's life, but this person could also face criminal charges. Depending on the situation and events surrounding the fatal accident, a negligent homicide charge is serious, and a conviction could result in years behind bars.

What to do when you're charged with a DWI

Facing a DWI (driving while intoxicated) offense can drastically alter your life. Depending on the circumstances, a DWI offense can range from a class B misdemeanor to a felony offense. These are not simple traffic tickets, which you can effectively pay and promptly forgotten. You need to take the DWI charges as seriously as the state of New Hampshire will. You don't want to simply plead guilty or accept a public defender for your counsel. In order to protect yourself and your future, you need to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney who understands DWI laws.

What are the differences between murder and manslaughter?

While all felonies that deal with the death of another human being are serious matters, some charges carry far heavier penalties if convicted than others. All of these charges are grouped under the main heading of homicide, but within that category are subdivisions that deal with the severity of the crime. If you are facing such a serious charge, it's vital to your defense that you understand these subtle distinctions.

To the survivors of the alleged victim, it might not matter that much whether their loved one died as a result of a second degree murder or an act of involuntary manslaughter. But to the authorities, the defendant and the courts, it matters a great deal.

Contact

Starbranch Law
171 Middle Street
Portsmouth, NH 03801

Phone: 603-436-5566
Fax: 603-373-8421
Map & Directions